Loading Map....

Date(s) - 03/29/2023
12:30 pm - 1:30 pm

The Cornell University - Sage Chapel


The Midday Music for Organ series continues on Wednesday, March 29 at 12:30 pm in Sage Chapel.

The concert organist and church musician Elizabeth Stirling (1819-1895) was one of the most celebrated organists in London, who pursued her career in the face of extensive criticism of women on the organ bench. Annette Richards performs music from Stirling’s signature volume of organ music, the Six Pedal Fugues and Eight other Movements for the Organ (1857), juxtaposing the music with readings from press reports and contemporary criticism arguing the case for – and against – the Lady Organist.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *